Venue Arrival Team Officials Meeting Event Start Date Event End Date Departure
Lal Bahadur Shastri Corporation Stadium 09/02/2015 10/02/2015 11/02/2015 13/02/2015 15/02/2015

Medal Events in Rugby(for 35th National Games, Kerala)


Sl.No Rugby
1 Rugby 7s Men
2 Rugby 7s Women



Rugby - 2015 National Games

2011 National Games Medal Tally of Rugby 7's








1 0 0 1


0 1 0 1


0 0 1 1


Rugby football is a style of football that was developed at Rugby School and played at English public schools in the 19th century. Rugby League and Rugby Union are the two types of rugby played, and although their rules are specifically different, it’s all about scoring by getting the ball across a line.



In 1871, the English clubs formed the Rugby Football Union (RFU). In 1892, things turned ugly with accusations against teams and players and as a result of the schism, separate clubs were formed and named "rugby league" and "rugby union".


Rugby union is both a professional and amateur game, and is dominated by the first tier unions consisting of Argentina, Australia, England, France, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa and Wales. The International Rugby Board (IRB), has its headquarters in Dublin, and handles the administration of the Rugby Union. It is the national sport in several countries across the globe. It’s also the most accepted form of rugby worldwide.


Rugby league is also both a professional and amateur game, and is administered by the Rugby League International Federation internationally.



Rugby union, as a men’s medal sport, debuted in the 1900 Paris Olympics. After 1924, it was dropped from the list. Rugby Sevens, a seven-a-side version of the Rugby union, has now been admitted into the program of the 2016 Olympics at Rio de Janeiro.